Swiftsure powers away from Wittersham Road

As I had a learner with me today, I was expecting a quiet sort of day. Most of the time it was pretty run of the mill until the Signalling and Telegraph staff and their manager turned up to work on the points that control entry and exit to the passing loop.

On the one hand this involved pulling the points levers and the locking levers dozens of times while adjustments were made. Not too challenging when the points are outside the box. Rather more challenging when the points are over 100 yards away and require considerable effort to pull and push.

On the other hand all this work had to be done between trains which added to the excitement and pressure.

Nogbad turned up at Witt Road to capture his blip. Good to see him, unfortunate that we couldn’t invite him into the box with the technicians there. I like his wry take on the scenario and that of Kaybee! It was a pretty close call at times. He refered to that distinguished person as being me! Ha! I may look distinguished from a distance and that's the best way to view me!

If I’m on my own at Wittersham Road I usually have plenty of time to catch up with blips. With a learner there’s no chance of spending an hour on the phone. It’ll be the same tomorrow as there an Railway Experience Day, the first since the pandemic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.