Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Owzthat

Owzthat - The cricket game for all weathers.

When I was a wee lad and probably not that wee we didn't have computer games. I think my Mum was just as worried about how many hours I played this game as a mum today would be about her son glued to a game console.

Though it did make me good at adding up and printing fairly neatly in a cricket scorebook the real joy was in pitting myself and mates in an imaginary team against Gary Sobers West Indies. I seem to remember being bowled for 0 by Wes Hall.

Then there was all the statistics. When plenty of scorecards had been filled in all the Batting and bowling averages could be calculated and tabulated.

The late Bill Frindall - the famous scorer on BBC radio's Test Match special was my hero and he seemed to have the job I wanted.

Train driver ? - no way, I want to be a cricket scorer, no that's not true I wanted to be THE cricket scorer but Bill already had that job so I drifted off into 30+ years in Computing - WHAT A WASTE !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.