King George V Hospital Camperdown

This hospital for mothers opened in 1941, closed in 2002 and was where 263,000 babies were born, myself and my older son being two of them.

When Gareth was born it was very common for babies to be kept in a separate nursery and brought to the mother for feeding and bathing.
In the meantime, if I felt like admiring him I would saunter along to the nursery and admire him through the glass.  You could enter the nursery if you were prepared to incur the wrath of the matron, and risk waking up any of the babies who were all 'perfect', and slept twenty two hours a day.
Anyway, it was a lovely hospital, and I 'lay in' for two weeks in a beautiful room with wooden fittings and a view over the university ovals.
A million miles from the birth experiences of today's mothers:)

It is now the administration centre for Royal Prince Alfred (RPA), over the road, but it looks almost derelict, and as I walked past tonight large birds were taking off and landing on the verandahs.

I was, of course, returning from visiting Carl, who had gone to the ward after his second big operation in two weeks.
He was not allowed to lie down, and  just wanted to curl up and go to sleep.
Two large scars put paid to that.
There was no cracking of jokes, and indeed, very little talking.
I'm hoping tomorrow will find him at least a little more comfortable

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.