Art Quilter Pictures

By friedaquilter

St. Mungo's graveyard, Penicuik

Sadly the old graveyard next to my dentist surgery (a very inauspicious coincidence!!) in Penicuik is falling into ever more disrepair. I can understand that tending to old gravestones is not a priority in the present economic conditions but it still upsets me to see it. I met someone else in the graveyard today for the first time and she seemed to be engaged in recording the information on the stones. A very worthwhile enterprise and I wish I could have stayed and talked to her but the dentist was waiting!
I don't have any information about the coat of arms shown but it's set into the wall very close to the Clerk mausoleum.

Thanks so much for sending my orange ranunculus into the Spotlight pages! So grateful to everyone for the hearts and stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.