Hush little baby ….

My favourite ‘summer song’ has always been Gershwin’s ‘Summertime’ from ‘Porgy and Bess’. Written as a lullaby for the 1934 opera, allegedly it’s the most covered song in the world with over 25,000 versions - some included in the link below! The last time I heard it live was in a performance in Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre on a beautiful summer evening.  

https://www.eno.org/discover-opera/the-history-of-george-gershwins-summertime/

I’ve tried to focus on two elements of the song - the cotton ‘growing high’, and the crying baby. Not many cotton bushes round here, so it’s cotton grass, and this baby is a Canada Goose gosling, put together in a double exposure. I know it’s fanciful, but I like to think that tiny feather below the gosling’s eye looks like a little tear….. and hopefully this little chap will soon ‘spread his wings and reach for the sky’! 

Summertime,
And the livin' is easy
Fish are jumpin'
And the cotton is high

Your daddy's rich
And your mamma's good lookin'
So hush little baby
Don't you cry

One of these mornings
You're going to rise up singing
Then you'll spread your wings
And you'll take to the sky

But till that morning
There's a'nothing can harm you
With daddy and mamma standing by.

I’m actually getting this blip out on the correct day for once - my third blip in the last 24 hours, so I’ve finally caught up! Thanks again for your kind comments, stars and hearts over the last couple of weeks. 

And thanks to Pinkhairedlady for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.