Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

The House That Moved

In my doll's house collection I have a model of The House That Moved which I built from scratch in 1/48th scale (1/4inch = 1 foot). Today I took the opportunity to view the real thing in Exeter.  In 1961 the house was due to be demolished to make way for a major new road. However due to its architectural importance it was jacked up and moved 220feet (70m) up a steep incline to its current position ... pity about the adjacent car park and 4-lane road!

I also visited the cathedral, with the longest uninterrupted medieval stone vaulted ceiling in the world, and the Exeter Quay and Canal, one of the oldest artificial waterways in the UK (extras).

I ended the day with the final 2 hour trip down the A30 into Cornwall and my base for the next 4 days near Penzance. I'm now shattered, but the small bottle of red wine left as a welcome gift by my holiday cottage owner was a big help in helping me relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.