Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Bavarian Red Squirrels

I have changed this post/photo since originally posting a boring photo of 3 bits of pork on a BB. These were original words:

Not a proper one, just decided to have typical German/Bavarian meat cooked outdoors as it does smell & fat flies, but ate indoors along with a big bowl of "Nudelsalat", pasta salad.

However, while posting this, thought I really ought to have taken a better photo for the day when I remembered my proper camera has just returned from being repaired and Angie & I had been using it to try  & remember how it worked.

When I picked up the parcel at the post office branch in Erkheim & had to pay the cost as it was "cash on delivery", managed to lose my bank card! It was late afternoon 20 minutes before closing, I dropped the card on the floor in the queue, luckily found it but hen couldn't find my ID but luckily accepted photo driving licence (with comment from the charming lady "that was taken a long ime ago"! :-((

Then did Luna walk around town, finally going to supermarket which is open till 8pm. Luckily I didn't buy much and so the embarrassment when found card was gone was not too bad, I had enough cash. For safety's sake cancelled the card that night by phone, but was pretty sure I had left it at the post office. Next day that was confirmed. Annoying as have to wait for new card & no doubt pay €20-30!

The two squirrels are both European red Squirrels. It's only Brits with their exceptionalism that have only red, red squirrels! Don't believe me, here is Wikioedia -

The coat of the red squirrel varies in colour with time of year and location. There are several coat colour morphs ranging from black to red. Red coats are most common in Great Britain; in other parts of Europe and Asia different coat colours coexist within populations, much like hair colour in some human populations. The underside of the squirrel is always white-cream in colour. The red squirrel sheds its coat twice a year, switching from a thinner summer coat to a thicker, darker winter coat with noticeably larger ear-tufts

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.