Not every day

By ppatrick

Just a peck

Months ago, I stopped hanging a bird feeder from the bedroom window because the chickens were attracted by the debris and crapping all over the slate paving below. The other day I found the feeder, still full of peanuts which had turned black and were covered with slug trails. Poised to empty it, on second thoughts I hung it back outside to see if anyone would be interested. The very next morning I was woken at six by the woodpecker, then joined by his/her offspring who hung from the bottom of the feeder while the adult popped pieces of nut into its eager beak. Unfortunately I didn't manage to get a picture, and by this morning, two days later, the youngster was able to feed itself on the manky nuts. As you see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.