Bem Bom

Not the photo I was going to post, but couldn't resist Feathers looking at me through the grass of our "lawn", and it makes a cheerful change to my perhaps rather grim Blip yesterday.

Speaking of the cats, they look so hot, stretching out as wide as they can in whatever cool spot they can find, that I tried holding them under the tap and they seemed to like it, so that's what I've been doing.

We had to go to Reguengos to get a tyre mended, and decided to carry on to Évora to see a Portuguese film, Bem Bom, about one of the first girl bands in Europe, Doce - who shocked conservative Portugal in the early 80's - and suffered for it. I've long believed that you learn a lot about a country from their films, and this was no exception, as well as being quite moving.

Here if you'd like to hear the actual group. (Brazilian popular music yesterday; Portuguese today!)

Gratefuls:
- escaping the heat for a few hours
- learning a bit more about the country we live in
- Brazilian black beans, rice, farofa and vinaigrette for lunch

bem bom = really good
doce = sweet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.