IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Minimal Mow June

I was trying to come up with a catchy title but I don’t feel I have succeeded…slow mow maybe?….it isn’t exactly no mow but I am trying to keep it to a minimum. We have noticed over the past few years that this results in more and more insects of diverse species, as well as increased populations of frogs and toads in the garden, regular visits from bats and a barn owl not to mention foxes, deer (I saw a large roe deer in the garden yesterday) and occasional hedgehogs. The deer have been a minor pest at times, stripping a little bark and eating roses on occasion…but the bonus of living in a closer connection with nature has far outweighed any downsides.
We have been gearing up to set off on a five day camping adventure on Friday; lots of last minute sorting and arranging of house, garden and caravan. It’s tiring, but the minute you are out the door and down the road it all feels worthwhile…
I had also put my name on a waiting list for a six day meditation retreat in Devon a while back, and thought it unlikely I would get offered a place. But then a couple of days ago I got an email saying a place had become available. Exciting and a little bit anxiety provoking as it will take me right to the edge of my comfort zone; it is one thing to meditate for half an hour at home every now and then, but it is many years since I have meditated intensively for days on end. Tends to dredge the sludge up from the depths of the psyche…but hopefully help to clear it. I look forward to slowing down anyway and stepping outside my everyday life for a little while.
There’s lots more I could say but that feels like enough…. Have a good evening and if you feel so moved, try and leave a patch of grass to grow somewhere in your garden without mowing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.