Marsupium Photography

By magi

feeding time

Work at KB today. Went to a great talk by one of the original authors of the Generic Mapping Tools. I used it extensively producing most of the plots for my thesis nearly 20 years ago. It's also the software that got me into python programming. GMT is a very flexible set of tools to produce beautiful maps. You used to write scripts using bash (or csh) together with awk and sed. It was quite fiddly. So I decided to learn python and write my own wrapper for GMT. This is all well in the past now. GMT is still going and now optionally offers a much more modern interface. It is still developed and the latest additions allow you to make animations. I might have to give that a whirl and produce an animated blip map.

I spotted the hoverfly on the way to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.