Traffic control

I was walking the road down to the village and took the first extra, then I spotted this young ferry employee coming up the road with two traffic signs. He stopped just as I got close and said he was pacing himself up the hill. I noticed the colour coordination, mentioned it and asked if I could take his photo and post it. No problem! I asked what they were up to today, and he said he was just going to put the signs up to prevent cars from bashing into each other. The ferry has been so busy, long lines up the road, and it can be tricky with traffic. In the first extra, you can see the very faded yellow lines on the road beside the driveway sign. That's the lane where ferry traffic parks when the lot is full. The lane to the left of it is for through traffic, and the lane on the far left is for traffic going the other way.  The reason it gets tricky is that the lane for ferry traffic doesn't extend very far up the hill, so cars park in the lane for through traffic. If you're trying to get into the village in that case and have to use the lane for oncoming traffic, you can't if someone's coming towards you. Hard to explain - hope that makes sense! People do get annoyed.
The second extra is a deer on the beach that got nervous when it saw me. I got the camera up for a quick unfocused shot, but it's rare to see a deer on the beach. There's a small freshwater creek that runs into the sea, and it was having a drink.
Busy day doing some more outside work. G has moved a lot of wood the past three days, some from the drying shed into the other shed, and some that he had stacked in the forest into the drying shed. Not easy on his back! I haven't helped with that even though I'd like to, because he says it's a one-man job. Okay then! I've got plenty of other things to do.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.