Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Camping In The Forest

Alfie the Campervan and I have gone away for a couple of days. We’re in Savernake Forest in Wiltshire. I was last here early in May. The campsite is just south of Marlborough at the northern end of the 4500 acre forest. Huge!  I went for a walk today and only covered one tiny corner!  See the Extra photo for more views.

There are over 40 ‘named’ ancient oak trees. This is just one of them. In 2020 they introduced a herd of Hereford cattle to help with the mowing and land management!  I saw a LOT of them today!  

I wonder who is missing the little tractor?

After dinner I went for a short evening walk around the campsite and the light through the trees drew me in, just in time to see the sunset over Marlborough. A quiet and relaxing day. It was HOT!  So it felt good to be in the shaded forest.

I’m WAY behind in my blips and have photos taken for most days. I’ve been super-busy since the Jubilee weekend, hence the big gap. I may go back and fill in! I must keep up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.