Seed head & geocaching

Spotted a few of these on the geocache trail today and I've never seen them before. Quite a lot larger than a dandelion clock. The pods were interesting too but the photo did not turn out so well (see extra). My name for it is Giant Dandelion but I expect it has a proper name.
Had a good day's caching but my back and most of my joints were aching a lot at the end of it (recovered a lot now after a rest). It was 4 miles, mostly flat. It's only a few years ago I could walk 10 miles without a problem. Today was undoubtedly made harder due to the heat. The caching trail was along The Cheshire Lines which is part of the Trans Pennine Trail.
Getting old! Ah well, it beats the alternative.
We had 18 caches to find and we found 17, some of which were quite hard. The one we failed on was purely because 2 people were having a picnic on the bench it was under! All of our walk we saw lots of cyclists and these were the only walkers we saw the whole time - just our luck for them to have taken over the bench. Such is life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.