stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

As the eye is formed...

As a man is, so he sees. As the eye is formed, such are its powers.
~ William Blake


Which comes first, the image or the words? It's one of Blip's eternal questions and has an answer which is different for every blipper. For me, it's almost always the image. The words come later, depending on how I feel or what I have shot. Sometimes they are relevant to the image, sometimes not. However, there are also rare occasions when I read something that influences the image I post. I was catching up on FB this morning and saw an image posted on the most excellent page, I fucking love science. Overlaid on it were the words below. It's the sort of thing that blows my mind. Hope it blows yours too!

It's breathtaking to consider:

You have two eyes, each composed of 130 million photoreceptor cells. In each of those cells, there are 100,000,000,000,000 (100 trillion) atoms - that's more than all the stars in the milky way galaxy.

However, each atom in each cell in each eye formed in the core of a star, billions of years ago, and yet, here they are today, being utilized to capture the energy released from that same process.

All to expand the consciousness that is YOU.

The universe has an interesting sense of irony, in that you are the universe experiencing itself - All you are is a thought.


Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.