Out with the old, in with the new

My regional IT consultant (Son Daniel) checked that I was getting the correct replacement fan for the dodgy Dell. It came today and it was so easy to replace. 3 small screws, detach the wire from the side and the power, screw the new one in and replace all the bits and Bob's yer Uncle.
Works fine, can't even hear it unless I put my ear to the vent underneath the laptop.
So Old Slow Joe goes back into retirement, but he may get a new lease of life. Daniel said that if I don't need it he could use it as a project. Don't ask me, my expertise nowadays pretty much stops at replacing a fan, inserting memory cards etc. What a come-down after my job was teaching telecoms engineers, installation, maintenance, fault finding, power installation (BIG ones) etc. Ah well, I don't really need all that knowledge now, but I am still proud of my past work life. I was working on IP Telephony systems way before SKYPE came along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.