Luis

When I was a kid growing up in Hull in the 1970s there was a simple choice when it came to your sporting allegiance. You either supported Liverpool or Manchester United (or Man U as everyone called them). Your team of choice was on your school bag, the scarf you wore in winter, the shirts you played out in, the players you pretended to be when out in the park. It was pretty clear-cut. I was Liverpool through and through and so were all my pals, Man U didn't get a look-in. I worshipped Kevin Keegan and was heartbroken the day he left, to be replaced by Some Scottish Bloke That No-One South Of The Border Aged Eight Had Ever Heard Of. And, of course, SSBTNOSOTBAEHEHO became my new idol and I had posters of him on my wall, I was allowed to stay up late to watch Match Of The Day, and even stayed up til after midnight once to see him play for Scotland against Iran at the World Cup in Argentina. My parents knew what Kenny Dalglish meant to me and they did nothing to stand in the way when it came to my utter love of Liverpool FC.

So, thinking back to those days of childhood wonder and glory it fills me with a mixture of bewilderment and despair when I watch Liverpool now and have to witness this kind of thing. Just like in 2011 I had to witness this kind of thing. What's he going to do next? What does he have to do until they eventually get rid of him?

Right, let's lighten the mood with a bit of music. Off the top of my head I can think of one cracking Uruguayan dance label and one cracking Uruguayan dance label only so let's have summat from their roster. I think I've linked to this track before quite some time ago, but it's ace. And it's fun. And it's got a real cheeky sample in it that makes me smile every time I hear it. Venus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.