Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Today's Notable Wildlife

Starting top left and moving clockwise:

1. Eastern bluebird nestlings
2. Indigo bunting male
3. Mr. Fox
4. Ms. Groundhog/woodchuck/whistlepig

The bluebirds are the biggest news. I almost never see any activity at the nest box (it's not visible from any window, I have to go out and stand and wait), so after the hideously hot weather we've had I was a bit worried that the babies in there might have baked. The box is a bit high - so I can't see in it, or even see what's on the screen of my iPhone when I hold it up and try to angle it for a decent shot. Today I managed to get a shot and behold! Healthy looking nestlings - almost ready to fledge, I'd say. Woohoo! I don't understand why Mom and Pop aren't dive bombing me when I take the photo. But they're clearly taking care of their children, so all is well.

The indigo bunting is fun because while I see and hear a lot of them on our walk through the hayfield, I don't so often have one come to eat the birdseed. So I was pleased to see this guy today.

Mr. Fox is a regular and getting somewhat alarmingly used to me. He runs if I make any sudden moves, but if I open the door not realizing he's out there he only moves off a little bit and then waits to see if I might be leaving him some peanuts. As long as he stays wary, all is well I think.

And then there's the groundhog. Sigh. I do rather like her (no idea if it's a her, but I like to think so), but...

Edit - right after I uploaded this, Ms. Raccoon showed up. See extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.