Greshfest - The Big Sing

In writing yesterday's blip and referring to the bass I could hear from Greshfest, I looked it up online and realised it wasn't just the live classic Ibiza dance music, the second day was The Big Sing which was also being streamed live. So this morning after checking the weather I bought a ticket online for £5 and did a leisurely 15 min walk to the event. It was in the Theatre in the Woods which I'd had a look at during one of my many theatre trips to the Auden Theatre (still closed after Covid), but had not been to a performance there before. There were also a few food and craft stalls, a mini circus performance and the 'budding stars' tent. In my collage you can see clockwise from top left Mark Feehily (one of the two lead singers from Westlife who also recently performed as Robobunny in The Masked Singer) - who performed one of my favourite theatre songs Bring Him Home from Les Mis; the theatre in the woods; Claire Sweeny; Maisie Smith (from EastEnders and who was in the Strictly final in 2020) - who I'd not heard sing before, but who has a really good voice; Our Dementia Choir - who sang two very moving songs; and the soprano Laura Wright. It was really wonderful to attend a live music event again, and an added bonus for it to be outside. It was really sunny and although 16C it felt so much warmer in the midday sun in the sheltered theatre in the woods, what a delightful venue. It was such a shame that it had been badly advertised and for the morning event there must have only been about 200 in the audience with many more empty seats than seats taken - I'd guess it could take c800. Then I walked back in time to watch the final at Queens and see one of my favourite players Matteo Berrettini take the title. A delightful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.