KariDi

By KariDi

My sign name

Back in the office today, with a two hour Deaf Awareness Course which I wasn't really looking forward to - very busy, two hours out for an unexpected training course wasn't welcome and I've done it before - a LONG time ago, all I remember is the bagpipe-y sign for Scotland. However, the course was with the very excellent Solar Bear, who I adore, and was a brilliant use of two hours - not just inspiring & interesting but I actually learned stuff!

One of the first things we had to do was find a 'sign name' - a habit, something that identifies you - instead of spelling out your name in BSL. I couldn't think of anything that didn't make me look shallow. On my second attempt at claiming I couldn't think of anything, my dear friends shouted: jewellery, sparkly stuff, accessories.

So, I am jewellery. Aye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.