misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

The Red Oak Leaves Drop

All during this so-called Spring I have wondered when the Red oak would drop it's leaves so the new ones will come. These are tough, dark brown leaves that hang on no matter what. Here in the middle of NY state as the third week in April began all night we experienced a fierce, cold wind. Then today -- a month since the "official" date for spring -- all the oak leaves just disappeared!
I am learning to mark the season's change relative to the changes in my garden. From now on the first day of spring for me will be when the leaves disappear from my Red oak tree.

Oh... the blue tarp on my neighbor's roof is where the workers are re-roofing this week. Those browned ornamental grass humps are going to be cut down to make room for the new blade to arise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.