Maverick

Lady Gaga - Hold My Hand

Had work today but there was a late night session of Top Gun: Maverick playing at the local imax theatre. Rushed to the cinema to grab a ticket and popcorn to fully enjoy that traditional Hollywood Blockbuster that seems rather absent these days. It had no reason to be as great as it was. But it was fantastic. Clearly a lot of work was put into it and the end result was spectacular. Normally the hit songs with Jerry Bruckheimer / Don Simpson films are a little naff but the Lady Gaga song was really fitting for the feel of the movie and a modern update of Berlin / Giorgio Moroder’s Take My Breath Away. The aviation sequences were jaw dropping and got me hanging at the edge of my seat. Mad respect to fighter jet pilots.

I’m still thinking about the film and why it was so good. The plot isn’t Pulp Fiction level or high concept as say, Inception, but I got exactly what it said on the tin and I was more than satisfied.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.