Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Philately

Hello again! Before I forget it, I must say that yesterday's blip of the "sitting room" by the riverside is the back garden of a private home; it wasn't where I had lunch, and also while I remember - the Bombay Mix I bought in Godstone on Friday is actually very very good! Not at all greasy. I am . . . IMPRESSED!! Wish I'd bought two packets now.

Back to today... I had a really great time in West Wickham post office this morning! I went in to get stamps to post the Presentation Pack of Jane Austen stamps which were recently issued. My cousins' daughter in Karachi is a huge fan so she is being treated to the set. When she learnt I was posting stamps, the lady behind the counter went completely out of her way to give me these picture stamps of famous Britons! I chose the row of 5 with Vivien Leigh in it (I didn't realise she was British - she did an excellent Southern accent in Gone With the Wind!), and then, because she (cousin's daughter) is a journalist, I chose Richard Dimbleby for the 6th stamp. No-one does special stamps like Royal Mail, so Marylou, if you are reading this, your stamps are finally on their way and sorry it's taken so long!

Back to the day... having done a few things on the High Street, I visited a lady (Jenny TooGood - yes that is her real name) from the church I go to when I'm here who invited me for coffee! She is 72 and full of beans and stories - as you would expect. Very nice visit, then it was back home (via a Party shop) to catch up with blips and dinner, and finally, at 8pm, we went to play table tennis! Great day!

See them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.