Well

Eught years ago I came across a curious site that I could newver quite work out what it was. Having seen thi swell to day, I think it was in fact a less good example of one.
Normally wells up here are a muddy depression with a pool of slightly questionable water lying in it. This one seems a rather grander affair.
Just above the shore, it has a revetted wall to the left and some larger stones to the right almost forming an enclosure and then six steps leading down to a deeper pool.
I do wonder if in fact it is not siginicantly older than the typical 19th century construction although it was still being used less than 100 years ago.
If anyone knows anything about wells  in Scotland or knows of a similar constructiuon, do please get back to me!
The simple delights of a toastie and a hot chocolate for lunch picking up Tricia from her morning drawing class.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.