Naked in the Rain

By taude

Gary Fisher Paragon Sunset

Tonight, for mountain bike Wednesday -- which was moved to Tuesday -- I demoed a Gary Fisher 29er. 29er because its wheels are the same size of a road bike, which makes the mountain bike look a bit more like a BMX. Yet, I still can't do wheelies on the thing.

Last week, I test rode a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR. When I rode that bike I felt like I was cheating on the trail, while wearing a big grin on my face, despite the rain and slick rocks and roots.

Tonight's ride took a little getting used to, and eventually I liked it. It's like driving a big BMW 7-series down the road, where as the FSR Stumpy was more like a Porsche on a flying carpet.

I can't go wrong with either, but my quest for the ultimate ride continues....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.