Carriage Reflection

Matter - Magic Rooms

I think too much. I get anxious when I don’t have anything to do or doing anything that actually helps me progress in life. I spent time to myself today doing innocuous things for self-aggrandisement. I coined it, an “Instagram Day”. Going to places to eat food that looked pretty, simply for Instagram traffic. It was surprisingly cathartic because I was more focused on looking at my food and drinks. Surprisingly I was taking the time to appreciate what’s in front of me and felt lucky to be able to even DO this. Even for Starbucks and overpriced “artisan” lemonade (Lemonade by Lemonica, an amazing example of brand over actual product). I should do more of this to appreciate the small things that I can do, perhaps much to the displeasure of my friends and relatives.

Last night I watched Spiderhead starting Miles Teller and Chris Hemsworth. It was like an elongated episode of Black Mirror but pretty good. Director Joseph Kosinski has two big films this year! I also started Stranger Things Season 2 after a 5 year break from 1. Just didn’t get round to it and realised how amazingly detailed it’s 80s aesthetics are, particularly the lighting, editing and framing of a lot of the shots. Watch the original Friday the 13th films, Christine, Ghostbusters, My Bloody Valentine, and a huge list of others and you’ll see the level of detail that went into set design, cinematography, costumes and editing, etc. there have been a lot of movies that have gone this route of “throwback style” but most of them are very surface, watch Fear Street 1-3, they suck and feel so surface and most of the throwback horrors on Netflix. It’s really nice to watch Stranger Things. Great stuff.

Also made a mix for my close friend. It was easy to draw from our clubbing history what music works for it. Check it out here: Mi Amigo, Hermano #01 Hope you like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.