*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

My mum is adopting another rescue dog tomorrow.

In 'normal circumstances' (whatever they are these days) I would think it a very bad idea. But these aren't normal circumstances. My mum's 80 and has Alzheimer's. To my mum a dog isn't just a *pet* (hate that word), it's way more than that, it's almost like a support dog. It gives her not only constant love but purpose and confidence. It gives her a reason to get up in a morning and to exercise every day. It's another heartbeat in the house when she's alone.

She's not coped at all well with Holly dying so suddenly. She told me on the phone that she didn't know how she'd manage without a dog and it broke my heart. But Holly's not being replaced or forgotten, she's just passed the baton (well chewed and slimy) to another beautiful soul who will help her mummy. And on the other side of the coin, another dog has found her forever (and very loving) home.

I'm still grieving for our little Bee, and will do for a while, and I won't ever forget her... but it won't stop me loving Bella too. To be honest there is probably room in my heart for every dog in the world.




Today's photo is courtesy of my ace brother who took mum to meet Bella today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.