Drama!

Yesterday evening the siren of an emergency vehicle alerted me to the arrival of a fire engine outside my window and I saw smoke billowing above the trees across the road.

We ended up with three fire engines in the street for more than two hours as the firemen fought to control the blaze, which must have been coming from this building. It has for many years been the dilapidated workshop of a carpenter who retired several years ago.

This afternoon I thought I'd snatch a blip of the remains of the building, half-expecting to see a ruin with no roof - the view from my window had been concealed by trees in full foliage - so I was very surprised to see no visible sign at all of a fire. There was a definite smell though.

I had forgotten that the rundown building was largely made of corrugated iron and brick, so of course it hadn't gone up in flames, but I presume there had been lots of inflammable matter inside.

Glad the drama ended with no casualties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.