Manhattan...

Day 6...

This morning I slept a little later, I think perhaps I'm back to some sort of normal, although its 1.30and I'm just home. I say home like I live here but already I've settled into coming and going and feel quite at home. I decided to walk down the Hudson side of town so I walked to the end of my street and found the sea, air and space museum. I didn't go in, I figured it might be something my Dad would like to do and I'm not sure I'd want to see it twice.

The next block down is where the water taxi leaves from so I decided to get on it! This having no plan thing is definitely the way to go... I like a little bit of spontaneity. However, next time I won't wear flip flops and perhaps take a jacket! I boarded the boat and took some shots of the city by day and quickly remembered my sea legs, or lack thereof! I managed to hang on till we got to Pier 17 but was glad to depart. I had noodles for lunch on the Pier and bought some tat... well everyone needs a fridge magnet from their holidays right?

Wandered up past City Hall and the court buildings, seriously impressive architecture, then pootled through China Town and Little Italy before ending up in Soho. My plan was to find the shop for FT's journal but they don't sell them any more. Then I went to the Converse shop to spend some of my birthday money and designed my own original pair! I can't even begin to tell you just how ridiculously tickled I am by this! I used the artwork for my tattoo and they're going to look AMAZING! They will be ready on Wednesday!

So I checked the water taxi timetable and saw the last one was at 6pm so I hot footed it back to Pier 17 thinking I was all clever only I didn't read the small print that said it was the last stop! Doofus! I couldn't face the walk back up to 47th so I got a cab. Oh the decadence! It gave me a peek at that side of the city though so like a proper tourist I took some photos from the taxi. I decided to go up to Bloomingdales to see if I could find some new Merrells. Just as we pulled up I saw that the shoe shop on the opposite side had them so went there instead. I don't know that I really like the swanky shops. I like bargains better and for the first time since I was little, I asked if I could wear them home and put my flip flops in the bag! That made me giggle... sometimes I'm such a child!

I walked home, was in the door ten seconds and had made a plan to meet Giacomo and Mecha for a late dinner and a wander. We had pizza at De Ciro's on Lexington which was delish and then caught a cab over to Brooklyn so we could walk back over the bridge. This shot was taken from the other side of the river and I loved the view. I love this city! Massive thanks to G and M for your company tonight, a total pleasure. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.