Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

I finally found a Bee Orchid ... haven't seen or blipped one for five years!  Went to Clints Quarry nr Egremont where I last saw them and actually saw two in the same place as before.  They are quite small and hard to find but I kept telling myself en-route that I would find them!  I remember meeting a lady there last year and she told me that she'd seen them there towards the end of June, so success.  Shame there were only two though.  Its a lovely place for wildflowers and a haven for the Common Spotted Orchid.  I always think of it as a wildflower retreat.  Afterwards stopped off at Longlands Lake but not very good for Misty to paddle in.  We did walk right around the lake though and took a few photos.  Afterwards went to a nature reserve which has a wildflower meadow.  Lots of the Common Spotted Orchids but didn't see any Butterfly Orchids this year.  As it was quite hot did a little detour to Bassenthwaite where Misty was so very happy to have a swim, a good way for her to cool off.  Collage in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.