Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Solstice

What a strange day weather-wise this solstice has been - grey almost all day, with just blinks of sun, a tiny smirr of moisture in the morning air but warm in the afternoon - and then this ridiculous clearing of the sky after dinner to leave us with a perfect, almost totally clear evening and not a breath of wind. I can testify to this because I was locking up and couldn't resist a couple of photos from my doorstep; because I blipped the western sky last night I'm looking away from the light sky of sunset to the Firth of Clyde and the lights of The Other Side.

I had Stuff to deal with this morning. Last night, long after I'd blipped, I was daft enough to try to change a password on a banking site and then couldn't log in again. On my card I found a phone number that suggested there might be a real person to talk to somewhere, and having got rid of Computer Man (the one who says beguilingly "I didn't quite get that ... let me try again" by being incomprehensible I found myself with a human bean. Despite a distinct incompatibility in our accents, we persevered; she dictated numbers and I typed and Bob was my uncle. 

The rest of the day was taken up with washing (dried outside despite the clouds) and marching up the road to buy fertiliser and stuff to mend the bird-table. Before dinner we managed to do both fertilising of pots and gluing and clamping of the offending part - fingers crossed. Oh, and there were a couple of family phone calls ...

And I've been having Proud Grandma moments: older granddaughter Catriona won a bronze medal fencing for her school in the Scottish Schools' Fencing Championships and her younger sister Anna completed her Gold Junior Award Scheme of Scotland doing amazing things like climbing, abseiling and litter picking and bivouacking and ... and ...

And now it's time for bed, and no, repeat no, attempts to do clever things online.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.