Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Flax

A friend told me about a field of flax near Guildford, so after breakfast I set off with Xena to go photograph the flax and I thought I could also walk her in the area. It turned out that the flax field was on the skinniest road in Britain, the UK is known for it's narrow country lanes but you get narrow and then you get frankly just ridiculous. It was a case of driving up a road around a blind corner not knowing what would be coming at you and not an inch of spare room to move out the way. And nowhere to park. I parked in the entrance way to a construction site of new homes, dashed out the car and snapped off a few photos before running back to the car as I knew I could not leave it parked for any length of time. A pity, as I would like to go back when the light is softer as it was so sunny and hot today, but given the difficult location I cannot do that.

I then tried to walk Xena at Newlands Corner but it was so hot and that is a ridge on the top of the Surrey Hills with not much shade so after a short walk I gave up and went home. I walked her in our cooler woods later in the afternoon.

Tomorrow morning is another early start as I have to walk Xena before meeting a photographer from my camera club at a bird reserve in Horsham, we are going to try and find kingfishers which he tells me are always there! Let's hope that he is correct!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.