blipblog

By blippychick

The battle is on

I’ve been battling over the picking rights of the cherries for the last two days. Been watching them for a while and there is only a small window between when they suddenly ripen, and when the birds have discovered them. I’ve tried hanging the CD’s in the tree (questionable success), running out each time I see a bird (hard work) and netting (works in small areas). Settled on going out at intervals throughout the day to pick a handful, as they ripen.
I don’t mind the blackbirds so much, they sing for me in return. But the pidgeons rip out whole branches, drop half of them, poo on my ladder and make a horrible flapping noise when I chase them off. (Sorry to any pidgeon lovers out there!).
As long as I get enough for three jars of my bestest cherry jam the blackbirds can have what is left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.