Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Lido

Sarah and I are in Plymouth visiting my parents for a few days. 

The journey down was the easiest for many a year - the motorways were clear as a bell. We stopped at Strensham services near Gloucester and I was acutely aware that every other person there was under 25 and wearing shorts.  Very mysterious. The penny only dropped when I noticed a pile of rucksacks. Rather them than me, as I use my rather lovely hotel bathroom for the next four nights.

Both my mum and step-dad have sciatica, as does my friend Maxine - ouch, it’s horribly painful, I am hobbling in sympathy. We shall see how the next few days pan out - some gentle walks and far too much eating I suspect.

The picture is of Tinside Lido looking glorious in the evening sun. Many childhood memories of when it did not look quite so smart, and the water was bloody freezing! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.