Tall Trees

These are Kahikatea trees or white pine at Faulkner Bush.  It is one of the few remaining areas of podocarp forest that once covered the Waimea Plains.  When I lived in the North Island native trees where a common sight and it is only now I realise how something that was familiar to me I now see less often.  I didn't know that Kahikatea are New Zealand's tallest indigenous tree.  They can grow to 50 m.  Their white odourless   timber was used extensively to make butter boxes for much of the late 1800's and early 1900's.  It didn't taint the butter on its journey to the United Kingdom.   A poor extra of the forester to show scale.

Big Yellow Taxi        Joni Mitchell

 . . .  They took all the trees, and put em in a tree museum
And they charged the people a dollar and a half to see them
No, no, no
Don't it always seem to go
That you don't know what you got 'til it's gone
They paved paradise, and put up a parking lot . . .

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.