Thorsday 2022

Learned that tomorrow is our town's fiesta. Previously said/wrote in other social media that our family has never made the effort to cook extra just to entertain friends/neighbors.

*My Mama (Maria Elena Teresita) who grew up with at least 3 other sisters and more than 7 brothers, came from a rigid Catholic upbringing/background (just my perspective), meanwhile, my father, who also came from a big family (they are at least 10---5 brothers, 5 sisters) inevitably grew up in a different family culture/environment (different religious beliefs). I have not memorized their names and order of birth however, parts of my "fighting spirit" comes from the Cavite/Tagalog roots. It has been years since we last visited but their humble home was beside a PEPSI factory. My Papa's "Tatay" used to "man the store" and used to give me free junk food when he was still living (he died years ago from a heat related stroke) while my Papa's "Nanay" who is now also gone spent a lot of her remaining years bedridden because of diabetes complications. My grandparents from my Mama's side, who are also both gone died because of some medical reason. Both my parents (now T's Gramma and Gramps) are taking several medication however both of them now find joy and peace with a daily practice of compassion, prayer, good nutrition and "smothering" and indulging T to his whims. ***
Apologies for the "litany." Just reminding myself of how priveleged we are and that despite literally more than a year's record on Strava (walk, yoga, weight training, hiking, cycling, random workouts i.e. spontaneous dances with T in our kitchen and running away from Chew or from everyone to "self care," we are blessed with a supportive family, lots of space and opportunities to be still. While I have no right to complain, I also have the freedom to choose to take a breather, laugh at myself and embrace the "good karma" in.
***
#Thorversations :
Showed my Instagram story to T yesterday.

P(i)a: What do you think?
T: I give it a seven.
P: Whaat? Why is it not a 10?
T: Am a critic. You can't question a critic's decision.
P: *laughter*
***
Featured photo is straight from the roll. It describes T these days. He would rather spend off screen time with me than allow me to take candids of him. Might have time to edit this or change it, depending on mood. ***
Gratitude, love and light from our small family to the Blip community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.