Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Orchid

The trains had still not settled down after the first strike day so I had a hop a bus down to Shipley to get to where some were running. I was in work for a third consecutive day for probably the first time in two years. 

It was good to see some Common Spotted-orchid in the wildflower meadow in the park. What was looking lush a couple of weeks ago is already looking quite dry and wilted with the current hot and dry spell, but I expect the rains will return to sort that eventually.

There were few butterflies in the park, just a couple of Speckled Wood and Ringlet, but if I were able to shift my walks earlier or later that might help. I did have a chance to call in at Shipley Station Meadow again on my way home and did find one Large Skipper among the Ringlet butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.