earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Dunstanburgh Castle

While the south of the country was apparently suffering a heat wave, as well as it being sunny in Yorkshire - so we later found out - up here in wild Northumberland it remained almost entirely overcast, but in the most beautiful way. I was presented with my favourite kind of sky, one for which I've never been able to find a name. I've christened it a collage sky because it's filled with every shade of grey imaginable, filled with many different shapes, including - possibly significantly - lenticular formations. So ... I wasn't complaining.

It was our going-home day and a chilled one too. Having spotted the castle from afar the day before, we drove to Craster to take a walk there along the coast path. Lots of fellow tourists made it difficult to capture the essential wildness of the headland on which it was built. The dormant photographer in me stirred and I ended up taking loads of shots from different angles, focussing more on the sky than the castle, trying to capture what I had in my mind. I kept complaining to E that the castle was in the wrong place, and that the clouds kept moving, especially when I wasn't looking. This was my least unsuccessful attempt.

Huge thanks due to E for her patience, as always, and then the long drive. For me, the final leg, cycling home from Leeds, into the wind and loaded up, was hard work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.