a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Still got the blues

The blue butterflies are getting much harder to find on the Mendips now, as other species such as the meadow brown begin to dominate.  I managed to find this one male Common blue who still looked to be in reasonably good condition, but I suspect he might be the last one for this year.

We stopped off at Knightshayes Court near Tiverton on our way back from North Devon, for an upmarket coffee and loo break. Cathy had a cheese scone and I tried the Courgette and Blueberry cake.  A robin came and sat on one of the vacant chair backs at our table.  It took very little encouragement for him to take some cake crumbs from my hand.  I had, of course, left my camera in the car ...

While in that neck of the woods we did pass a local polling station, which reminded us about today's by-election.  It was only a small country village so they didn't seem to have any voters queuing up to express their opinion.  Tiverton has been a staunchly Conservative seat for many years, but along with many others we will be interested to see which way they vote when the results are announced tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.