RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Hibiscus

I seem to be entranced by the color red lately (yesterday's red chair, today's red flower). It is probably that while drinking coffee on our patio each morning the light strikes this red hibiscus just right, causing me to jump for my camera (many times before I have even finished my first cup). I have, therefore, shot this same plant every day for more than a week, but always a different blossom. Because while this hibiscus is prolific with its blooms they never last more than a single day. What is a beautiful, full flower one day is a shriveled collection of decaying petals the next. So even though I shoot the same subject, it is different every time. It has given me a chance to constantly work the image until I captured something I could feel comfortable posting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.