Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Genteel pursuits?

These days seem to unfold gradually - the pale grey sky of morning, some sunny spells but some cool ones, the gradual clearing to a blue sky by late afternoon, the still and perfect evening such as I've just been looking at as I locked up. My day didn't exactly unfold peaceably, suffering as I fear I was from the unwise consumption of too many sugar snap peas last night, but I made it out in time to walk down to my friend Paddy's for my art lesson, moved from Tuesday to suit her calendar. At last I started to try to create an actual picture, though I've chickened out a bit and chosen a small sheet of paper for a first try. In between bursts of instruction the other student and I engaged in conversation about what one means by "Heaven" ...

I felt less like doing anything in the afternoon until I'd had quite a long time dozing in a chair, but decided quite late on that I felt up to doing a little tidying up in the front garden - on this occasion hauling weeds out of the path and removing unwanted things from the big border. It was when I was doing this that I realised the grass was warm and dry (it's largely moss) and just asking to be sat down on, so that, reader, is what I did. You can see from the right-hand photo above that I have a dense hedge screening me from the pavement outside, so it was very peaceful and sheltered. 

I almost felt I should have had on a shady white hat and floaty dress, maybe carried a trug - but though my pursuits today may have verged on the genteel it's an illusion. I wore an old black shirt and jeans with holey (as opposed to holy) knees.

I'm watching The Midwich Cuckoos just now, and The Time Traveller's Wife. Oh, and the gripping Das Boot. You?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.