Morning Meditation

It was early, 
  which has always been my hour 
    to begin looking 
      at the world

and of course, 
  even in the darkness,
    to begin 
      listening into it,

especially 
  under the pines 
    where the owl lives 
      and sometimes calls out

as I walk by, 
  as he did 
    on this morning. 
      So many gifts!

What do they mean?  
  In the marshes 
    where the pink light 
      was just arriving

the mink 
  with his bristle tail 
    was stalking 
      the soft-eared mice,

and in the pines 
  the cones were heavy, 
    each one 
      ordained to open.

Sometimes I need 
  only to stand
    wherever I am 
      to be blessed.

Little mink, let me watch you.
  Little mice, run and run.
    Dear pine cone, let me hold you 
      as you open.


It Was Early, by Mary Oliver


The key to enjoying this area in the summertime really is to get out early. This morning I enjoyed some peaceful moments sitting at the feet of the Buddha, but I'll have to admit I was only meditating vicariously through him, rather than actually clearing my mind. Afterwards I took a trail up to Lookout Ledge that I hadn't walked in years. Even though it was short, I still enjoy revisiting such places from time to time. Lookout Ledge I've been to a bunch of times; I make a point of taking the little detour and sitting on the stone bench there whenever I go by. I like to sit there, stare at the trees, and imagine what it would have been like before they all grew up and blocked whatever view there must have been once upon a time. Someday I'll probably come by, find a glorious vista, and feel sad all the trees got cut down. It's good to have little pockets of quiet and privacy amidst all the hullaballoo of everyone's summer vacations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.