Hev’s Journal

By Hevkk

Lily Saves The Day

Did I fail? We had a busy day sorting our camping gear ready for some breaks away. I didn't give much thought to my shot for today, after all there was the whole afternoon ahead. I did get a few shots before we went out, one being this newly opened lily; What a joy.

Then it was a quick walk after lunch with Jak. That's when it all went wrong. My constant scouring the hedgerows for a photograph worked against me. or maybe for me. Half hidden in the hedgerow was a  crow trapped by its wing on barbed wire. We tried so hard to help, the wire was too thick for us to cut and too deeply imbedded. The RSPCA were willing to send someone out but I had a long wait. It's a huge field,  I couldn't leave. They were wonderful and made sure the poor creature suffered no more. No job too small for them. But I was there for more than 3 hours, no shade, nowhere to sit. It was tough.

So did I fail? No I think we did what we could and stopped even more pain. The officer told me they were 'donated' a large reel of barbed wire. Unbelievable! She says they quickly disposed of the evil stuff.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.