Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Sunshine surprise

Another lovely sunny morning today and nicely cooler than yesterday evening. I sat out in the garden with my coffee and enjoyed the peace. A young Robin was challenging his boundaries as it fluttered around below the feeders making loud requests for food, of its parents.
When I checked the front door mid morning I found this lovely bunch of sunflowers, a gift from my sister to cheer me up. They worked!
I met Ali in the Gyle today and we found a dress for Josie to wear to the party to celebrate her baptism and Ali and Stuart's wedding last year. They decided to make it a joint celebration in just a few weeks time. She'll have a traditional robe for the celebration and a pretty dress for later. The Monsoon sale was on and we could have bought her half a dozen beautiful special dresses.
We went back to Alis and swapped cars. She's had mine since they went on holiday a few weeks ago, then, because of Covid we didn't manage to swap back. All done now. Poor Colin is now on day 5 of his infection, but like me seems to have got away lightly.
When I got home, I did some more Cursillo paperwork, it's good to get that out of the way.
This evening we watched some of Glastonbury with Robert Plant. I had some deep(for me) thoughts. What would the 1970 star think of his 2022 person, and also, what do the younger Glastonbury audience think of the age of the line up of stars and performers, thinking of Paul McCartney and Diana Ross in particular. I know what my teenage self would have said if somebody had wheeled out a stream of octogenarians!
I made a batch of shortbread this evening, I'm heading off on a pilgrimage to St Andrews tomorrow and sustenance to share is required. It's not a very energetic pilgrimage, we're going by car and being pretty sedentary when we get there. I'd hoped to catch up with blipper Annakucat, but I think the day will be filled.
It's the last Friday of the month so here is the link to the National Gallery Art Quiz. Eight out of ten for me today.

https://nationalgalleries.typeform.com/to/zUrR9p8N?typeform-source=lm.facebook.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.