LindaScott1

By LindaScott1

TEDx Hull

Today I went to a locally organised Tedx event dedicated to ideas worth spreading (all in 18 minutes or less!).

There were 11 speakers and a fringe element with artists and interactive science.

My favourite speaker was Dr llona Boniwell, a positive psychologist whose talk was 'educating for happiness and resilience' followed by Dr Andrew Steele who explained how investment in science could pay off.

The stand out point for me as a stroke survivor was that of the £11,000 funding a year spent on my behalf by the government - only 48p goes to stroke research compared with £4.50 a year per person on cancer research. Cancer is responsible for 30% of deaths and stroke 10%. Something not right there (and I'm not advocating less research for cancers!).

My blip is James Fenwick who illustrated the TEDx Hull logo throughout the day. jamesfenwickill.blogspot.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.