earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Energy is a Fickle Beast

Another day of very little energy or focus, at least for the morning and most of the afternoon. Forrest had targeted today for a bike ride and I'd wanted to introduce to him the delights of Malham Moor. His preference was to head out in the morning but it was windy and chilly and I needed time to get my head together. He also needed to fix a puncture and I refused to do it for him. He needs to learn.

I thought a short run might inject some life into the legs. They were heavy when I set off and it still comes as a shock when running feels so laboured. I stopped to talk to some lovely people, getting my portrait for the day, and when I set off I felt lighter. It's amazing how often that kind of encounter gives me a boost. I felt like a runner again, and then I met some friends and after talking to them I felt lighter still. After meeting another friend out running with her dog, I felt even better. It was as much as I could do to stop and not wear myself for the cycle later.

I'd hoped Forrest might have sorted his wheel but he waited. I can report that he's as inept as me when it comes to anything mechanical. Recently bought off eBay, it was the first time he'd needed to get a tyre off. It was incredibly tight. It needed the two of us in the end and over an hour before the tube was in. We had some lunch. Just about ready to go, I went to put a bit of air in my tires and managed to break a valve in the process. I couldn't face the thought of changing another right away. We took a break, came back to it and faced another struggle. We didn't hit the road until 4.30pm. Strange to think that in winter it would be dark by then.

Anyway, the wind had dropped and the sun had come out by that time. Once on the road, my head recovered and we enjoyed a great ride. Forrest's Father's Day gift to me was riding on the front when we were into the headwind. I had no problem with that. His bike-handling skills are improving rapidly. It's a very hilly 55 mile ride and we were back for 8.15pm. It's the fastest I've been around that route in quite a while. For the first time, he dropped me on the final climb home but I still finished the day with far more energy that I'd started it. A fickle beast, energy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.