My Weed Collection.

I've almost finished de-weeding the drive, with four notable exceptions; five if you count the Nettle which I harvest to add to the Ramsons in my Omelettes, and the occasional "Nettle Tea".
"One 2018 review states that leaves of nettle plants are rich in a number of nutrients, including:
vitamins C, D, and K
minerals such as iron, selenium, zinc, and magnesium.
fatty acids, such as alpha-linolenic acid
antioxidants, such as polyphenols, carotenoids, and terpenoids
sterols
Because nettles contain numerous important vitamins and minerals, consuming nettle tea may help people get more of them. Its iron content, in particular, may help people who are prone to anaemia and other nutritional deficiencies."
Top left - Wild Strawberry,  there's another close under the row of Box Plants.
Top right - Next in line moving down the Drive. An unidentified Brassica,  which must be an escapee from one of my nearly-raised Beds as I let them flower - Insects for the use of.
Next clockwise an annual Poppy.  They snuck, as Seeds, in with plants we bought over the years. I must admit - I thought they'd all gone except the odd one in a Raised Bed.
And finally Cyril © Esther Rantzen.
A Potentilla which must be another interloper.  First search found me a wild, yellow Cinquefoil. Second search showed some red ones but I'll not attempt a varietal name.

Last year there'd have also been some Valerian from many gardens away, which I think I got rid of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.