What a View

This is "Big Fella", by an artist called Ray Lonsdale, installed on the sea front of Silloth.  It faces approximately north towards the view of the Solway Firth in the Extra; it is larger than life-size and has a beautiful texture from the welded seams and rusted patina.  The installation is covered in this piece.

I've flown down the Solway Firth many times, passing Silloth and its disused airfield; never have I considered what the town would look like or how the view might be so beautiful.  Flying from the exciting valleys of the Lakes in the south or Dumfries and Galloway to the north and northeast, the flat of the Firth was uninteresting and soon behind me.

But I met my cousin in Maryport today and from there drove up to Silloth and walked along the front and found it a revelation, particularly on such a bright day with such interesting skies.  A new find . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.