Seeking refuge

After a bit of gardening, including digging up the red hot poker, I went on a mini safari. Winderwath Gardens had put up a sign saying ‘gooseberries’ the other day and I’d been meaning to explore that way for ages so I cycled over. A curious, lost in time sort of spot. Not a soul around and a house fit for Miss Havisham with long, drawn drapes across the windows and a sign in the courtyard saying ‘ring the bell’. I hardly dared, but with no-one to be seen I did in the end, but still no-one appeared. I gave up and headed off to explore the paths by Hornby Hall. The skies darkened, my little legs peddled fast and I sped up to the shelter of a wall with what I thought was black plastic at the base. But no, it was a whole row of dead corvids. There’s no way round it, this area has a touch of The Shining about it sometimes. Slightly freaked I carried on past the woods, half expecting glistening eyed, half crazed hillbillies to run out. Instead, the farmer bore down on his quad, laughing at me sheltering under a tree. In a brief break in the shower, I decided to seek the refuge of Ninekirks - extra taken when I emerged back into the sunshine ... a fascinating church and history.
Last time I was here was another adventure... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2708803671730162530

On my way back, determined to get me, the farmer appeared again, this time with reinforcements, a shedload of sheep were bearing down on me. I backed up against the wall of the narrow track with the bike in front of me and they shot past. This time he stopped to speak. I was appreciated for my considerate sheep positioning strategy and quizzed as to where I was from and it turns out he was from the far north of Scotland but had been farming near Thetford before moving here. We exchanged Norfolk talk and then I headed home collecting some elderflower as I went and got in just before the next really heavy showers.
Planted up the new bed with squash, broad beans and sprouting broccoli.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.