Emerald Necklace Marina

fka Eddys Boat Harbor in Lakewood, now part of the Rocky River Reservation of the Cleveland Metroparks.  The section above is the Rocky River about 5000 feet before it meets Lake Erie. 

I was not expecting all this when I agreed to meet another trail ambassador today.  I met Kathy S at the marina/gift shop/restaurant/party hall, then we took the Scenic Park loop to the Valley Pkwy trail to Rockcliff Springs and then back.  We walked more or less parallel to the Rocky River most of the way.  We watched construction workers way up on the bottom side of the I-90 bridge at a terrifying height.  We met C & C of C&C's Ohio Peregrine Page (FB), peregrine fans (in the extra) who have been photographing and rescuing falcons for years in this area.  We saw snakes, heron, ducks, geese, birds, woods (extra: white elderberry along the path), and 119 park visitors on the trail with no one needing assistance.  Everyone was smiling and friendly today.  I was thrilled to snap a belted kingfisher off the bridge. 

9,185 steps, 3.7 miles, 2 stair flights, 85 degrees

After we parted ways, I sat along the river's edge in the shade to eat my veggie lunch.  The breeze cooled me off as I enjoyed watching every kind of paddler, rower, boat, and people pass. 

A GREAT day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.